A WedAward "Top-30 World Wedding Photographer” for 2016-2017

Client Reviews

Client Reviews
Please see more wedding reviews on Wedding Wire and Bar Mitzvah reviews on Event Wire .

Jan said...
Todd photographed two weddings for my son and his bride – the trip on the New York subway to City Hall in June and the more traditional ballroom wedding and reception in Westchester three months later. Both times, Todd captured the story, the fun, and the joy. He is very sensitive to the wishes of the bride and groom – and the parents, too! Working with him is a pleasure and his photographs are gorgeous. Jan Golann – mother of the groom - 2017
Wedding: September 30, Sleepy Hollow Country Club
Melissa said...
We knew Todd was the right photographer for us the moment we met him. His work was beautiful, and he was extremely professional and personal. He understood the vision we wanted for our wedding photos and was easy to work with from start to finish. He captured our wedding perfectly and we could't have asked for a better photographer to do so. I would highly recommend him!
Wedding: 07/15/2017
Venue: Abigail Kirsch at Tappan Hilll

Amanda wrote...
"Todd was wonderful to work with. He prides himself on capturing the emotion and beauty of weddings while also staying out of the way. From our first meeting it was clear he was interested in our story, from how we met to how we interacted as a couple. He was communicative throughout our planning process and responsive to our requests. We were so happy with all the pictures that Todd took and we were surprised at how quickly he edited and sent all our pictures to us!"
Wedding: 08/13/2017
Venue: Abigail Kirsch at Tappan Hill Mansion

Tracey wrote:
"We have now engaged Todd for two of our sons' Bar Mitzvahs and have been thrilled with the photos each time. What most struck us with Todd was that he captures emotion in his photographs. He is present, but unobtrusive, and has a great eye to know just when and how to photograph not just the posed shots but also the beautiful moments of joyous life cycle events - parental pride, boisterous laughter, spirited dancing, tender looks exchanged by couples. We have a beautiful, uniquely arranged album from our oldest son's bar mitzvah that has garnered many compliments over the past four years. We just went through Todd's proofs from our second son's bar mitzvah and are thrilled to have so many wonderful photos from which to choose for his album. "
August 2017

Michelle wrote:
We love Todd! He was our photographer for all four of our Bar/Bat Mitzvah's! He is kind, talented, easy going, accommodating and a true pleasure to work with! He captures the true energy and joy of each event! Love his natural and candid photos! Highly recommend him for any special celebration and event!
August 1, 2017

Rachel said...
Todd photographed our daughters Bat Mitzvah and did an amazing job! He was so creative, professional and artistic. Our photos far surpassed our expectations and we have the most beautiful album to show our family and friends. Todd worked together with us to create our dream album and we are so proud to be able to display it in our house. I would highly recommend Todd Shapera. He is a rare find and a step above the rest!
October 10 2017

Catherine said...
Todd photographed our son's Bar Mitzvah party. He listened to our vision, had many interesting ideas and captured the essence of the party! We love all the photos. He was very easy to work with. We highly recommend Todd!

Bar Mitzvah: 08/31/2017

Pauline wrote:
We are so impressed with the album Todd Shapera created to celebrate our daughter's Bat Mitzvah! It's unique, creative and beautifully assembled. We love the compliments we get for both the album and the incredible moments that Todd captured in his pictures. The process was fun. Todd supported us throughout it all--making decisions and guiding us in developing a wonderful overview of the event. So grateful!
May 2017

Barbara wrote:
We used Todd Shapera to photograph my daughter Chelsea's wedding in October. We knew that he was a phenomenal photographer, but were still blown away by the results. Todd is so much more than a photographer. He tells the story of the day through his photographs. His photos capture the moments that made the day and event so special. His use of light and perspective take a picture from simply a photo to a framable memory. The only problem with Todd's work is choosing just a selection of photos for printing or making an album from, since there are too many amazing selections to choose from.
Westchester, N.Y. Wedding: 10/01/2016

Sara wrote:
Todd is an absolute pleasure to work with--friendly, and full of creative ideas. He takes stunning photographs. My family has been working with him for over a decade to capture our most important moments. He photographed my Bat Mitzvah years and years ago, as well as my sister's, and most recently, he photographed my wedding! It was a long day with two ceremonies--one Hindu, one Jewish--as well as a reception; beginning to end, he captured everything exquisitely. I can't wait to work with him again!
Tarrytown Wedding, September 4, 2016

Elizabeth wrote:
Todd was an absolutely amazing photographer for our wedding and pleasure to work with. He made the trip down to my parents house before the wedding (where the bridesmaids and I were getting ready) and spent his time there making sure he photographed everything that was important to me. At the venue itself, his photography was absolutely stunning and unique, despite the fact that he has photographed that venue countless times before. Additionally, he was extremely efficient during the wedding; he managed everyone participating in the bridal party photos extremely well so that the process was not long and painful. During the event, we hardly noticed he was there as he captured all of the important moments without being intrusive. Overall, he was very easy to work with and was always available to answer any questions we had. If you are looking for an excellent photographer whose pictures will capture the beauty and essence of your wedding for years to come, Todd is the perfect choice.
Septemeber 23 wedding, Tarrytown House

Kristen wrote:
Todd is an exceptional photographer! His artistic eye allowed him to capture beautiful moments from our wedding in a unique way. He was patient with us and strived to make our day as stress- free as possible while coordinating relatives and friends so that we could get all the shots we desired. He promptly responded to e-mails and phone calls leading up to the event so that we could seamlessly plan our day. I would highly recommend him for your wedding! You will not be disappointed!
August 6, 2016 Wedding, Tappan Hill Mansion

Deborah wrote:
Todd Shapera is a wonderful photographer in every sense of the word. He was wonderful to work with, always called back if we had a question, was funny and very personable, had great compositional ideas, and captured our daughter's wedding to a tee. From the getting ready pictures, the first look, the ceremony, etc. until the very end, Todd captured the joy, excitement, love and spirit of my daughter's wedding. His pictures told the story of the wedding in such a beautiful way. We couldn't have asked for a better photographer to work with. His assistant and videographer were, needless to say, wonderful as well.
July 23,2016 Wedding,Tappan Hill Mansion

Leah wrote:
Todd and his assistant Emma were amazing. They were always there at the right moment to capture all the most important shots, and they turned the formal portrait sessions into super fun photo shoots. Less than three weeks after the wedding, Todd gave us a USB stick with 1200 edited digital images from the wedding. They were organized into "chapters" so that they are easy to sort through, and I can always find what I'm looking for pretty quickly. To say that the images came out beautifully is an understatement. Scrolling through the photos, I find myself transported back to the emotional high of my wedding day. Plus, with his background in photojournalism, Todd produced striking, unexpected images that are a far cry from the cliche snapshots you get with a lot of wedding photographers. Besides doing an amazing job with the photography, Todd was professional, respectful, responsive and all around a pleasure to work with. I would recommend him unconditionally for anyone who is looking for a wedding photographer.
June 19, Brooklyn wedding

Alana wrote:
Todd was amazing to work with. He spoke to us before the wedding to get to know us and he captured every detail of out special day. He is truly and artist and goes above and beyond! He captured both the traditional wedding pictures but also unique and creative photos. We couldn't be happier! You won't be disappointed with Todd!
May 2016 Tappan Hill wedding

Dana wrote:
Our pictures are gorgeous! Todd was fun, had great ideas, and blended well into the background during the service and party.
Tarrytown House, Novemver 14

Diane wrote:
Todd takes gorgeous pictures and has a relaxed manner. He is focused and creative when working on a shoot. Our family enjoyed working with him.
White Plains, New York October 3

Gabi wrote:
Todd was wonderful and went above and beyond to get special beautiful and unique photos. He really listened to what I wanted during the ceremony and reception, and had some brilliant ideas about locations and lighting for photos. I was able to enjoy my wedding and didn't feel as though someone was always taking pictures of me. I would highly recommend Todd.
Blue Hill at Stone Barns Wedding, August 2015

Rob said...
Todd was a pleasure to work with. He was very easy going and flexible and was not one of those "in your face photographers" but was still able to get the shots we wanted and did a terrific job. I would highly recommend Todd and we plan to use him for other upcoming celebrations.
Studio 450 Bar Mitzvah, NYC, September 2015

Alexis wrote:
Our wedding day was amazing – from the beautiful New York Botanical Garden location, to the flowers, friends, family, sunshine etc. – it was beyond anything we could have dreamed of. We were lucky to have Todd Shapera capturing those memories for us to enjoy for years to come. Todd’s pictures are stunning and he puts his whole heart and soul into each event. His pictures highlight not only each part of the evening, but also the many wonderful personalities that were there, the spirit on the dance floor, and the joy we felt. We received our pictures quickly, and Todd took time to sit with us to go through them and highlight many he thought really captured the day. We really enjoyed such a personal touch. He also organized a photo booth that was an unqualified success – our guests loved goofing off and the team at the booth was fantastic.
New York Botanical Garden Wedding, August, 2015

Annie wrote: Todd is amazing!! From the moment we met him, he made us feel so comfortable and seemed genuinely interested in getting to know us. Our engagement photo shoot in the fall was so much fun and we loved the photos we received. Todd has a great eye for light and movement and our wedding photos really reflect his talent. He has shot weddings at Tappan Hill before so he knew just where to position his many cameras to get the best shots. We are so glad we chose Todd to document our special day and would recommend him to anyone looking for an incredible photographer!
May, 2015 wedding, Tappan Hill.

Pauline said...
We are so grateful that we chose Todd Shapera Photography for our daughter's bat-mitzvah. From the moment we met with Todd, we were taken by his work. Todd is an artist and as such, he brings a creative eye to event photography. His portraits of our daughter from both before and during her bat-mtizvah were just beautiful. Furthermore, Todd is a true professional. He is communicative, responsive and flexible. He did a great job capturing the memories we shared with friends and family and we are happy to have had the opportunity to work with Todd and his team.
June 5, 2015 Bat Mitzvah

Barbara said...
I rate Todd Shapera Photography 5 stars. Excellent and remarkably talented. If I could give him six stars, I would. The bride and groom write most of the reviews about a vendor, BUT I am writing because of my observations and experiences with Todd as Mother of the Bride. These are of equal value when considering a photographer for THE wedding. Couples definitely should make their own choices in planning for their perfect day. However, M-O-B’s see and hear things that might escape a younger couples’ attention, such as creativity, personality, energy levels, price/value considerations or how photographic details are discussed. As my daughter and future son-in-law interviewed Todd, I was merely there to listen. How impressed I was when he opened the meeting by having them talk about themselves and how they met. They lit up like candles as they spoke, and I could see Todd intently watching them to understand their personalities and style. In his very calm manner, a stark contrast to all the other wedding stress, he described how his goal was to tell the story of the day through his photos. And, how completely he accomplished this by creatively using light, motion and landscape to photo the breathtaking bride and groom, the romantic gestures and expressions of the couple, the excitement and joy of the guests, and the celebratory fun all were having throughout the evening. Looking at the photos is experiencing the day all over again. The pictures are very creative, capturing priceless expressions, including the facial emotions of the Father of the Bride as he toasted the couple. Todd’s prices are reasonable, and he photographed for more hours than were required. He did what was needed to keep his promise to tell the story of the day. He is professional, active without being intrusive and the love he has for his work is unquestionable. Thank you, Todd, a million times over. Barbara Fairfield County, CT following an October 11, 2014 wedding at Tappan Hill Mansion.

"Dear Todd, I hope I said it last night, but in my delirium I may have forgotten!!! THANK YOU!!! You were an absolute pleasure to work with, and it was so wonderful having you for our special day! I can't imagine anyone else being as efficient, professional and fun as you! All of our family and friends (along with us) were so impressed with your style....you blended right into the crowd. I saw briefly the photos you set up at the cocktail hour and at the bar during the reception and they were stunning! Thank you for working so hard- I know you're always going going going, but you were 110% present and enthusiastic for us, and it was greatly appreciated!!!

We truly can't thank you enough!!!!
Zoey & Marc
October 18 Fairview Country Club wedding
Greenwich, CT
------------------------------------------------

If we could give Todd 10 stars across the board, we would. We had the pleasure to have Todd shoot for our engagement session and wedding day, having the absolute best experience with him. Todd's technique is flawless and his ability to capture natural emotion in each picture is uncanny. He truly tells a story throughout the day with his pictures. From the first time we met Todd to the sit down to review all of our photos, it has been an amazing experience.

Todd has a very calming presence about him which makes you feel comfortable on one of the most important days of your life. He has such a special talent and it is so transparent with all of the beautiful photos. We are so very lucky to have found Todd and while this review is a little sad to write since it means our engagement and wedding are over, we have the memories captured in photographs. I know we will be using Todd again in the future to capture our other life moments.
Rachel
Tappan Hill Mansion
--------------------------------------
My daughter had her wedding at the beautiful Raphael Vineyard on the North Fork of Long Island. We loved how Todd captured the moment and the feeling of the wedding from the house to the church to the beach to the vineyard! His perspective was unique and his pictures artistic and emotional! Todd's pictures definitely recreate the mood and the happy memories of this special day every time we view them.....great job, Todd!!!!!! DL - March 2015
-----------------------------------------
Todd photographed our engagement shoot and our wedding and he was amazing for both! For our engagement session, we wanted to bring our huge and exuberant puppy to be part of it and Todd couldn't have been happier, flexible and more patient with our rambunctious pup! Neither of us had professional pictures taken before and Todd immediately made us feel comfortable and at ease. He explained what he was doing while he was doing it, but not having us do anything that we did not feel was "us." We loved our pictures and Todd even had a reel of them playing at the wedding!

For our wedding, our beautiful pictures aside, people were constantly coming up to us impressed with how they noticed that Todd was on top of everything we were doing. Whether it was hiding behind a bush behind the chuppah or running to the back of the ceremony to get us during the recessional, he was ALWAYS there, and never in our faces! We would love to know the magic of how he is able to pull that off, as we've been to so many weddings where the photographer has a bright light in your face or is blocking your view of the couple. Not Todd! He gets all the pictures in a completely unobtrusive manner. This was especially apparent at the end of the evening, as it was pushing 1am and our friends spontaneously made a huge circle around us while we danced. Todd made a bee-line for a step stool so that he could capture the special moment from all angles and the gorgeous pictures brought us right back to it.

When our pictures arrived, it really brought us right back to the moments of the day. They were beautiful and captured everything that was important to us. He has been reliable and resourceful and we have LOVED working with him!
Kimberly
Wedding: 07/19/2014
-------------------------------------
Todd was a joy to work with. We immediately clicked with him; we enjoyed his sweet and calm manner throughout the wedding planning process and especially on the big day. He came armed with a ton of creative ideas that resulted in photos that we absolutely love!

We received so much great feedback from our guests - everyone loved Todd! A photojournalist, Todd is able to capture intimate moments and frame creative shots while being completely unobtrusive. At some points, I forgot he was there but he most definitely was -- we have pictures from every minute of the wedding!

Importantly, he respected that we didn't want to spend hours posing. We did a really fun pre-ceremony session that took about an hour, and about 30 minutes of family photos. From those alone, we have hundreds of amazing shots.

In addition, his rates are very reasonable and you get to own the all of the prints - we have 1000 images that we can print on our own. The albums style he offers are all beautiful and we can't wait to get started on that project with him!
Mary Kate
New York Botanical Garden Wedding
August 2013

Working with Todd is a dream. He is very considerate and he has a special eye for photography. What is more important is that Todd is very patient, caring and simply a joy to work with.
Dance company director, August 14, 2013

I never thought a photographer could make so many people look absolutely beautiful. Todd Shapera was prompt, efficient and a pleasure to deal with. His pictures captured not just the face but so many emotions on those faces. He is an artist and not only that, he is one of the kindest people I have met in a long time. I would definitely hire him for any occasion where a photographer is needed. He is truly the BEST in his field!!!!
Tarrytown House, June 2013 Wedding

Todd is amazing to work with and we couldn't be happier with our pictures from our wedding. He is a true professional in every sense of the word and was the most personable of all the photographers we met with. His work speaks for itself and the photos he was able to capture were better than we ever dreamed. We would highly recommend Todd for any special event and choosing to work with him will be the easiest - and best - decision you will ever make!!
April 2013 wedding

Todd is a magnificent photographer. He is patient, creative and it was a pleasure to work with him. His professionalism is fabulous. He immediately returns phone calls and promptly returns proofs and pictures. He genuinely cares. He takes the time to become familiar with the venue so that our pictures have beautiful backgrounds. He knows the best times to photograph outdoor pictures so that the lighting is amazing. He not only takes traditionally posed pictures, but also captures spontaneous moments of the day.One of the best parts about working with Todd is that he captured every moment of our day, but never interfered when getting a shot. He cares about what he does and it definitely shows!We highly recommend Todd Shapera to photo your event.
Michelle and Frank, Mamaroneck Beach and Yacht Club, September 2012

Todd was amazing! He gave us exactly what we asked for, was great in working with our vision, and our pictures came out fabulously! He was also just generally pleasant and fun to be with and had great ideas for action shots. We had no worries about punctuality or professionalism, and there wasn't a single snag in the wedding when it came to his part! If you can get him, I highly suggest you do...ASAP!!! He's not just a wedding photographer, he's an artist!
Zheila, Tarrytown House Wedding, July 1, 2011

Todd's work is simply remarkable and what you capture in a photograph says so much. The photographs are stunning on every level.
Sally, private school, Stamford, Ct. May 2013

Todd has photographed two beautiful events for our family. Both of daughter's bat mitzvahs were captured forever by an artist's eye. We feel so incredibly lucky to have worked with Todd. In addition to his incredible ability to catch the perfect, priceless moment he is also a pleasure to work with. Todd has patience for the old and young and has unbridled energy to consider the opportunity of an expected situation. When the weather turned differently than forecast he found a way to make the clouds into the perfect background.
December 2012 and April 2010 NYC Bat Miztahs at the Pierre Hotel Ballroom and Mandarin Oriental Hotel.

Todd was worth every penny! Our wedding photographs are BEAUTIFUL & very unique. Yes, there are the obligatory, formal family shots but there are soooo many other incredible, candid moments he caught. He managed to be everywhere at once, catching all the fun moments (even on the dance floor), but without ever getting in the way. I have been to several weddings since, & was really disappointed for my friends & family about how poorly THEIR photographers stacked up against Todd. They were distracted, slow to react, & missed so many great shots. Quite frankly, I have seen no other photographer WORK as hard as this man did at my wedding, nor have I seen anyone produce as beautiful a product. We also were glad we chose NOT to have our wedding filmed. It would have been unnecessary as Todd captured every moment (even some that we didn't see) beautifully.
July 2012, Tappan Hill Wedding

Todd is amazing. He photographed my son's and daughter's weddings six months apart in New York. He was wonderful ,making the wedding days come to life. His work is outstanding. He is creative and professional. The most important people were in the pictures. We highly recommend him.
Susan, May 25 and August 26, 2008

Todd Shapera is the standard by which others should be measured. Todd gives very personal service - no factory approach. He is very prepared, ready for candid as well as planned shots. Kept good mental track of shots still needed. Wonderfully inventive. No cliche poses. NEVER interfered with the mood or happenings in getting his shots, and captured natural expressions. Excellent lighting. Caring, unruffled manner, which helped reduce normal jitters and tensions. Our wedding book is outstanding, and captures perfectly the joyous celebration (and outshines every other one we've seen).
Florence, June 11, 2011 wedding, Sleepy Hollow Country Club

Over the past 10 years Todd has photographed the bar and bat mitzvahs of my three children. Todd brings a wealth of experience and sensitivity to all his projects. He was able to capture the special moments and create images that we treasure. He is professional and most courteous and I would highly recommend him for ANY type of event or project.
Amy, February 2009, and two previous dating to 2005.

Todd is an extremely gifted photographer who captures the essence of the subject matter he is photographing. As a person he is gracious and caring of his subjects. While taking photographs, he maintains a low profile but is able to put his subjects at ease. He has the flexibility to modify his approach to satisfy the needs of the situation and the wishes of the person who has engaged his services.
Edward, Founder of a Foundation to Address Pediatric Brain and Spinal Chord Cancer, May, 2013

Todd Shapera is an award-winning creative photographer with an artistic eye. He captured the joy, spirit and beauty of our daughter's wedding with pictures that will provide a lifetime of loving memories. In addtion, Todd is a pleasure to work with -- something that every bride and groom will truly appreciate. We recommend him whole-heartedly.
Rosella and Kurt Ranno, July, 2012 wedding, Wainwright House, Rye, New York


Over the last 3 years, Todd did the photography for 2 Bar/Bat Mitzvahs and a number of other family events. He has also helped us produce beautiful books and family cards over the years. Todd is a true professional. In addition to his incredible artistry, he is always accessible -- communicating on an on-going basis about our expectations at the party and then promptly returning proofs, photos and books. He takes incredible pride in all of his work, and it shows in everything he does.
Tracy, February 2010 and February 2012

There is no better attribute in a professional then passion.
Walter, May 20, 2012 wedding

My husband and I are so pleased with the truly stunning photos of our wedding. Todd took a perfect mix of posed and spontaneous pictures. He captured every moment and yet blended in so well that I don't actually recall being photographed. I highly recommend Todd Shapera.
Shannon, July 17, 2010 wedding, American Yacht Club

I cannot recommend a photographer more highly than Todd Shapera. When I hired Todd to photograph my son's Bar Mitzvah in 2009 (and again in 2011), I was drawn to him not simply due to the quality of his party work that he aptly presented to me in lovely albums. I was drawn to Todd based on the breathtaking and emotional prints that hung all over his house. These prints provided me with a picture of the type of man Todd is on the inside. He is warm, giving and truly interested in exploring and demonstrating beauty found in all of humanity throughout the world.
Anna, 2009 and 2011

Todd did my daughter's bat mitzvah in February 2010--when it was time for my son's bar mitzvah this past October I immediately booked Todd. He is extremely professional--arrives at event with ample time for set up. Captured all the great moments--very easy to work with. Have recommended him to many friends who have all been thrilled with his work. He really cares about the finished product which is what sets him aside from many of the other photographers out there. Hedy, February 2010 and October 2012